planetgolfreview.com logo,  golf, betting, uspga, european tour, golf equipment, golf holidays, golf destinations, golf  
Latest News

Golf Monthly November 2014 Cover

Golf Monthly is the market leading golfing magazine in the UK. It's a lively and welcoming read that is targeted at good golfers who are regular players - and keen to get even better.

With over 100 years of heritage and authority behind it, it represents the real 'voice of golf' with leading columnists, top players and unrivalled coverage of equipment and instruction.

Download Golf Monthly

World Rankings
Top 10
23rd November 2014

Rory McIlroy 
Henrik Stenson
Adam Scott
Bubba Watson
Sergio Garcia
Jim Furyk
Justin Rose
Jason Day
Rickie Fowler
Matt Kuchar

European Tour
Road to Dubai
Top 10

Rory McIlroy
Henrik Stenson
Justin Rose
Jamie Donaldson
Victor Dubuisson
Sergio Garcia
Marcel Siem
Brooks Koepka
Alexander Levy
Shane Lowry

US PGA
FedEx Cup
Top 10

Robert Streb
Sang-Moon Bae
Ben Martin
Bubba Watson
Ryan Moore
Charley Hoffman
Shawn Stefani
Tim Clark
Brendon de Jonge
Kevin Streelman

 

 

 

Welcome to planet golf review.com

Christmas Golf Gifts Ideas

TaylorMade Golf Christmas Ideas


TaylorMade have a few offerings this festive season and not only the ones we have highlighted here. First up is the TaylorMade 64” double canopy auto-open umbrella –. Ergonomic sport-grip rubber-coated handle and comes with a Lightweight fibreglass shaft and retails from around £39.99

More >>

Christmas Gift Ideas, Taylormade

Nikon Coolshot


The new Nikon COOLSHOT is unveiled as the successor to the Multi Award Winning Nikon Laser Rangefinder 350G and further cements Nikon’s intentions in the Laser Rangefinder category.

More >>

Christmas Gift Ideas, Nikon Coolshot

Abacus Knitwear


Abacus men’s and women’s knitwear come in a range of colours. The Men’s Milano pullover is made from 100% Luxurious Merino Wool and comes from the Swedish brands AW14 collection.

More >>

Christmas Gift Ideas, Abacus Sports Wear

Christmas Gift Ideas, The Ground will Catch You

A Powerful Read


Paranoia, second chances and a missing girl don’t mix… Steve Hollis despises what he has become, the existence he has settled for. He is leading the wrong life and dreaming of missed opportunities, following an act of revenge he cannot forget. One person can put him back on the right path; another will lead him further astray.

More >>

Christmas Gift Ideas, TaylorMade RSi Irons

TaylorMade RSi Irons


For those who wish to splash out this Christmas how about getting your loved one custom fitted with the latest Taylormade irons? You could book a fitting with the professional at your local golf courses or nearest American Golf store. game.

More >>

Christmas Gift Ideas, Mizuno Rain Jacket and Base Layer

Mizuno protection


Take on the worst of the weather that the coming Winter and Spring might have to offer with Mizuno’s new Hyper Rain Jacket.

More >>

Sundog Mela Lens


When I was asked if I would like to test a pair of golf sunglasses, my reaction was similar, I imagine, to that of most golfers: firstly, what is the difference between sunglasses and golf sunglasses, and secondly, I don’t wear sunglasses anyway, let alone when I play golf.

More >>

Christmas Gift Ideas, Sundog Sunglasses

Golf Monthly Offer


Golf Monthly is the market-leading magazine brand in the UK in a sport that continues to grow and grow. Golf Monthly is a lively and welcoming brand targeted at good golfers who are regular players - and keen to get even better.

More >>

Christmas Gift Ideas, Golf Monthly

Ecco Golf Shoes


Danish company ECCO have launched BIOM Hybrid 2, the next-generation of its best-selling style showcasing patented NATURAL MOTION technology and built atop the award-winning E-DTS outsole.

More >>

Christmas gift ideas, Ecco BIOM Hybrid 2

Good for the sole: Skechers Go Golf, Golf Shoes Review

Golf Equipment test Srixon AD333 Tour, Dozen

Golf Equipment test Srixon AD333 Tour, Front View

One of the things I am always apprehensive about testing when I go on these trips is a golf shoe – a week away with a new pair of golf shoes that chew up your heels and give you blisters all over your feet is no fun at all.

More >>

Spin doctor: the Srixon AD333 Tour Review

Golf Equipment test Srixon AD333 Tour, Dozen

Golf Equipment test Srixon AD333 Tour, Front View

It’s always interesting testing a new ball: will it fly further, higher, and how will it react on those little shots around the green? Not forgetting, of course, that you want as much control and spin as possible on all shots from 150 yards and in.

More >>

New temptation – Scotty Cameron Select Fastback Review 

Golf Equipment test Scotty Cameron Select Fastback Putter, Line up

Golf Equipment test Scotty Cameron Select Fastback Putter, Face

Putting is an element of the game where feel and looks play more of a part than the technology. It is an art form, but finding the perfect putter is akin to finding the perfect wife – it’s always a work in progress. But it’s a eureka moment when you do. Then begins a love/hate relationship, eyeing up a new model now and again after a particularly bad round, but knowing deep down nothing compares with the bond you already have with your current model.

More >>

Plenty of bite in the old dog 

Golf News, Casa de Campo IAGTO 2015 World Resort of the Year, The main pool at Casa de Campo

Golf News, Casa de Campo IAGTO 2015 World Resort of the Year, Ariel view of the Teeth of the Dog Course

The Dominican Republic’s Casa de Campo was named Golf Resort of the Year by IAGTO at tonight’s 15th annual awards ceremony in Lake Como, Italy.
We had the pleasure of staying at Casa De Campo not long after the votes had been counted and managed to grab an interview with the resorts Chief Sales Manager Peter Bonell.


More >>

Golf in the garden of England 

Golf News, Golf In Kent, Princes Golf Club

Golf News, Golf In Kent, Chart Hills Golf Club

Visit Kent has launched a website www.golfinkent.co.uk to showcase the county as a golfing destination. Kent has more than 100 golf courses and three of the six clubs in England to have hosted the Open Championship - Royal St Georges’s Princes and Royal Cinque Ports. The website also covers accommodation suited to golfers and also covers some non-golfing tourist attractions in the county.

More >>

Perfect fit: TaylorMade’s Tour Preferred CB Irons Review 

Golf Equipment test Ping G30 3-wood & Hybrid line up

Golf Equipment test Callaway X2 Hot sole and back

When I received TaylorMade’s Tour Preferred CB Irons through the post, I must admit I was taken aback by how much the face resembled the MB blades – which I had tested on a trip to Florida only a month before – although it was slightly larger. I was also intrigued to see how much the speed slot in the 3-7 irons would work.

More >>

 

Feel the burn: Callaway X2 Hot Review

Golf Equipment test Ping G30 3-wood & Hybrid line up

Golf Equipment test Callaway X2 Hot sole and back

It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed any Callaway equipment, the last time being when I was on the equipment testing team at Golf Monthly. And it just so happened that the Callaway X2 Hot 10.5° driver was handed to me to test a week before I headed over to the Dominican Republic to play some iconic courses.

More >>

Love at first sight: Ping’s G30 fairway wood and hybrid Review 

Golf Equipment test Ping G30 3-wood & Hybrid line up

Golf Equipment test Ping G30 3-wood toe image

When the Ping G30 fairway wood and hybrid landed in the office just before I headed out to the Dominican Republic, I knew this would be the perfect trip to put them through their paces.

First impressions are always important, and I loved the look of the black and blue together, as well as the sleek design.


More >>

Back in black – Wilson Staff’s FG Tour TC Wedges Review

Golf Equipment test Wilson FG Tour TC Wedges, line up

Golf Equipment test Wilson FG Tour TC Wedges, hero image

I have always believed that if something looks good, chances are it will inspire you to play better – it's the reason why some professional golfers always perform well at certain courses. So when I opened the box to reveal Wilson Staff’s new FG Tour TC Wedges in their beautiful black finish, I knew straight away that I was going to enjoy testing them.


More >>

Adams Golf Pro Hybrid Review:

Golf Equipment test Adams Golf Pro Hybrid, line up

Golf Equipment test Adams Golf Pro Hybrid, Face and Top view

There is a reason why Adams Golf hybrid clubs are now regarded as the best-designed hybrids on the market and the dominant brand of their kind when it comes to the professional ranks on the major tours around the world.


More >>

Rife Duke Putter Review:

Golf Equipment test Rife Duke Putter, line up

Golf Equipment test Rife Duke Putter, Sole

As I unwrap Rife’s Duke new heel/toe weighted blade I have to say I am slightly taken aback by how nice the black finish looks. With its orange trim it certainly looks like a putter to inspire confidence when you get to the dance floor. One of the things that I also notice as I take a few practice swings on my putting matt at home is how light the putter feels – something I’d soon discover would be the perfect tool on Florida’s fast greens.


More >>

Mizuno MP-T4 Wedge System Review:Gap Filler

Golf Equipment test Mizuno MP-T4 Wedge System, Line up

Golf Equipment test Mizuno MP-T4 Wedge System, Quad Cut Grooves

If you have been reading my wedge reviews recently you will have gathered that my short game is probably my weakest as a golfer. This is more to do with the fact that I don’t practise it enough, probably like a lot of you guys out there. The good news for me is that when I go on a testing trip I get plenty of time to put this right. And as you’ll see from the video, with the right equipment in my hand I can get pretty competent.


More >>

TM Tour Preferred MB Irons Review:A Blade Amongst Equals

Golf Equipment test TaylorMade Tour Preferred MB Irons Hero 1

Golf Equipment test TaylorMade Tour Preferred MB Irons, Toe shot

Most of you will know by now that I am a bit of a blade lover, and as I open the box and pull out TaylorMade’s new Tour Preferred MB Irons I’m struck by the sheer simplicity and beauty of the muscle back design. But what gets me even more excited is that Taylormade have incorporated the KBS shaft and I can’t wait to test these bad boys out.


More >>

Adams Golf XTD 3-Wood Review: Pocket Rocket

Golf Equipment test Adams Golf XTD 3-Wood Line up shot

Golf Equipment test Adams Golf XTD 3-Wood Face and Sole shot

I enjoyed all the clubs that I tested this week, but if I was to choose one stand-out club it would have to be the Adams Golf XTD 3-wood. It really was probably the best 3-wood I have tested for a long time. It wasn’t so much distance – although the XTD had plenty of that – but it was the feel and consistency that it produced.


More >>

Sun Mountain ClubGlider Journey Review: Take A Load Off

Sun Mountain ClubGlider Journey

Sun Mountain ClubGlider Journey, undercarriage

I am always wary of testing golf shoes, mainly because whenever I’m about to go on a test trip I take them straight out of the box, throw them in my golf travel bag and put them on about five minutes before I hit the practice ground just prior to my first round. And the reason why I worry so much is that I have no back-up shoes, so if the ones I am testing pull lumps of skin off my heel, I still have to go through the same pain again the next day.

More >>

Adidas Adizero One Review: No blistering performance

Golf Equipment Review, Adidas Adizero one, Sole light blue/dark blue hero shot

Golf Equipment Review, Adidas Adizero one, Sole white/grey

I am always wary of testing golf shoes, mainly because whenever I’m about to go on a test trip I take them straight out of the box, throw them in my golf travel bag and put them on about five minutes before I hit the practice ground just prior to my first round. And the reason why I worry so much is that I have no back-up shoes, so if the ones I am testing pull lumps of skin off my heel, I still have to go through the same pain again the next day.

More >>

Bridgestone Tour B330 Review: Whole new ball game

Bridgestone Tour B330 Golf Ball Review, box, sleeve and ball image

Bridgestone Tour B330 Golf Ball Review, golf ball side and front image

I wonder how many club golfers are actually aware that the design of a golf ball can affect how far you hit it, and how this works with your swing speed. For instance, did you know that with a slower swing speed and low-spinning ball you can out-drive someone with a faster swing speed and high-spinning ball? The guys at Bridgestone have produce a range of balls that will suit varying types of swing speeds to obtain the maximum distance from your drives, which is great news for club golfers.

More >>

Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Review: Sound Investment

Wilson Staff FG Tour M3, Driver line up

Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 3-Wood hero shot

The first thing you will notice about the Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 is its distinctive colour. I would say it’s like a gun metal grey, which is pretty apt because once you get to grips with this baby, it certainly goes like a bullet from a gun. But out on the course or driving range the second thing you will notice is the sound from this driver: one of my playing partners remarked that it was like a hammer striking a bell – another apt analogy.

More >>

Adidas ClimaChill: Hot under the collar? Try this…

Golf Equipment test Adidas ClimaChill Polo Shirt, line-up shot

Adidas ClimaChill Polo Shirt, motion image

When Adidas sent me the new Adizero golf shoes to test, they also sent me through a couple of polo shirts. I didn’t think anything of it, apart from admiring the colours and thinking they must be the updated colour palette for their new shirt range.

More >>

Adams XTD Hybrid: The Adams family’s new baby

Adams Golf XTD Hybrid Review, Line up shot

Adams Golf XTD Hybrid Review, Crown and Cut-Thru

When the Tight Lies 3-wood turned up for me to test, it was like looking at a low-profile set of tyres on a car – complete with that nagging doubt as to whether they are up to the job. But if you’re anything like me, when you get on the golf course and place the club behind the ball on the fairway, you are likely to have an epiphany and wonder why all 3-woods aren’t designed like this.

More >>

Adams Tight Lies 3-Wood: Sit Tight

Adams Golf Tight Lies 3-Wood Review, Line-up shot

Adams Golf Tight Lies 3-Wood Review, Crown shot

When the Tight Lies 3-wood turned up for me to test, it was like looking at a low-profile set of tyres on a car – complete with that nagging doubt as to whether they are up to the job. But if you’re anything like me, when you get on the golf course and place the club behind the ball on the fairway, you are likely to have an epiphany and wonder why all 3-woods aren’t designed like this.

More >>

Sundog Sunglasses Review: A Moment Of Clarity

Sundog Mela-Lens Sunglasses Bolt Mela

Sundog Mela-Lens Sunglasses Mela Lens

When I was asked if I would like to test a pair of golf sunglasses, my reaction was similar, I imagine, to that of most golfers: firstly, what is the difference between sunglasses and golf sunglasses, and secondly, I don’t wear sunglasses anyway, let alone when I play golf. Well that’s not exactly true, I do wear sunglasses while driving, but that has nothing to do with the sun…

More >>

John Letters TR47 Irons Review: Red Letter Day

Golf Equipment, John Letters TR47 Irons, Line-up

Golf Equipment, John Letters TR47 Irons, Sole and cavity

Standing on the beautiful practice ground at the new Royal Palms hotel golf club in Marrakech, I pull the 7-iron out of the new set of John Letters TR47s that I am testing on the trip. A couple of practice swings and the club feels really nice, and for a game improvement club I do like the look of the face.

More >>

JL Golden Goose GG3 Review: Golden Wand

John Letters Golden Goose GG3 Line-up

John Letters Golden Goose GG3 Face shot

The name Golden Goose always brings a smile to my face. It was one of the first putters I used as a kid, and probably what you used when you made your first putt as a little kid on some crazy golf place on a beach promenade or holiday resort. Now the guys from John Letters have dusted down the design and brought it into the 21st century with a CNC milled face and heal-toe balancing to relive those halcyon days.

More >>

JL Tour Black Wedges Review: Pitch Black

John Letters Tour Black Wedges Line-up

John Letters Tour Black Wedge and KBS Shaft

John Letters has been handcrafting golf clubs since 1918, and when I unwrapped the package and saw its beautifully designed new Tour Black wedges staring up at me, I must admit to a little excitement creeping in, especially on seeing that they were fitted with a black KBS shaft. Mean is not the word – these babies looked positively ready to show a few flag sticks exactly who is boss.

More >>

Mizuno MP-54 Irons Review: At The Cutting Edge

Golf Equipment test Mizuno MP-54 Irons

Golf Equipment test Mizuno MP-54 Irons, hero shot

When it comes to forged irons, Mizuno is really in a league of its own. I have been playing its irons since I was a kid and still have my TP-11s. I even still carry the 2-iron from that set – the 1-iron sits in the corner staring menacingly at me …

More >>

Mizuno JPX EZ Driver: Mizuno passes it's driving test

Golf Equipment test Mizuno JPX EZ Driver, sole shot

Golf Equipment test Mizuno JPX EZ Driver, adjustability

Well, I think there is finally a ball to compete with Titleist’s Pro V1 range. The Mizuno MP-S ball has everything – from spin around the green to control and feel off the putter face and length from the tee.

More >>

Mizuno: MP-S Golf Ball Review

Adams Golf CMB Idea Irons Review, line-up

Adams Golf CMB Idea Irons Review, back

Well, I think there is finally a ball to compete with Titleist’s Pro V1 range. The Mizuno MP-S ball has everything – from spin around the green to control and feel off the putter face and length from the tee.

More >>

Golf Holiday News: Tunisia Golf Festival, 1-8 March 2014

Golf Holiday News, Tunisia Golf Festival, Group photo

Golf Holiday News, Tunisia Golf Festival, Winners 2013

Golf Holiday News, Tunisia Golf Festival, Logo

ELITE EVENTS & TRAVEL announced the second Tunisian Golf Festival, which will run from 1st – 8th March 2014. There will be five rounds of competitive golf, played over the Yasmine and Citrus golf courses in Hammamet, Tunisia.

Prices include all flights and accommodation on a half board basis at the 5* Le Royal Hammamet Hotel. The price also includes all transfers, green fees, golf club carriage and in flight meals. There is also a free massage thrown in for good measure. Also included are the Cocktail party and Gala Dinner.


More >>

Adams Golf: CMB Idea Irons Review

Adams Golf CMB Idea Irons Review, line-up

Adams Golf CMB Idea Irons Review, back

My press trip to Lisbon, taking in five great courses in five days, allowed me to put TaylorMade’s new SDLR driver through its paces. I was intrigued to see the next step in TaylorMade’s adjustable drivers – how it would feel and if there were any improvements on the R1.

More >>

Tried and Tested: Christmas Golf Gifts Ideas

Wilson Vizor Putter

Tested over seven courses on a recent press trip to South Wales, I found the Wilson Visor to be a well balanced putter that would make an ideal Christmas gift.

More >>

Golf Christmas gift ideas, Wilson Vizor Putter

Druh Belts

Belts have made a big impact on the golf apparel market this year and none stands out more than the Druh range of belts, one of which we put through its paces on this summers Atlantic Links Tour.

More >>

Golf Christmas gift ideas, Druh Belts

 

Golf Christmas gift ideas, TaylorMade SLDR Driver

TaylorMade SLDR

One of TaylorMades latest drivers was tested two months ago. It's a driver that is going to be a winner with most club golfer with its easy adjustabliity and will make another perfect Christmas gift idea.

More >>

Golf Christmas gift ideas, Adams Golf Idea CMB Irons

Adams Idea CMB

Looking to help your husband or son move their golf game to the next level? Then this beautifully designed blade could be just the set of irons that will get them there. Tested over five Lisbon courses in varying playing conditions, these beauties would make a perfect present.

More >>

Sub70 Christmas offers

With Christmas just around the corner, Sub70 have launched their Christmas offers. We have tested their apparel now for the last two years. Sub70 offer great designs at great prices and with their Christmas discounts make great gifts

More >>

Golf Christmas gift ideas, Sub70 Golf Apparel

Kikkor Golf Shoes

If your partner likes to look stylish out on the course and the saying look good, play good is one they stand by, then the Kikkor Golf Shoe range will have something for them. We tested these this summer on courses throughout Cornwall, Devon and Somerset.
 
More >>

Golf Christmas gift ideas, Kikkor Golf Shoes

 

TaylorMade: SLDR Driver Review

TaylorMade SLDR Driver Review: Face

TaylorMade SLDR Driver Review: Sole plate

My press trip to Lisbon, taking in five great courses in five days, allowed me to put TaylorMade’s new SDLR driver through its paces. I was intrigued to see the next step in TaylorMade’s adjustable drivers – how it would feel and if there were any improvements on the R1.

More >>

Kikkor: Player Golf Shoe Review

Druh white belt and buckle design

Druh blue belt and buckle design

Golf shoes are always a difficult choice. Of course you want them to look good – but most importantly you want to be able to play 18-36 holes of golf in a day and not have your feet blister and ache. The ultimate test would be to take a brand new pair of the Kikkor Mens Player golf shoes on the Atlantic Links Tour – seven rounds of golf in five days over some of the UKs toughest links courses.


More >>

Druh Belts Review

Druh white belt and buckle design

Druh blue belt and buckle design

It was interesting to come back and watch the Open after playing seven rounds of links golf in five days on the Atlantic Link Tour, especially when I saw Lee Westwood sporting the same Druh Belt and Buckle on the final day, which I’d been testing over the last five days.


More >>

Adams Super S Speedline Irons Review

Adams Super S Irons, Main

Adams Super S Iron hero shot

Adams Super S Irons one of the hybrids in the set

The first thing I noticed about the Adams Super S Speedline – and you’ll probably do the same – was the lip-type design when viewing the crown of the club. It reminded me of the streamlining of a cyclist helmet and it turns out this is no coincidence. The Adams team have refined that technology for the Super S to become the most aerodynamic driver they have ever produced.

Which was good news, because testing this baby on six different links courses in five days, it was going to see a lot of wind from every angle possible. The good news is the Super S Speedline not only coped but seemed to excel in the windy conditions, from Cornwall to Somerset, Trevose Golf Club to Burnham & Berrow, the Adams Super S Speedline lapped up the challenge and I enjoyed every minute of putting his driver to the test.


More >>

Adams Super S Speedline Driver Review

Adams Golf Super S Speedline Driver Main images

Adams Golf Super S Speedline Driver Hero shot

Adams Golf Super S Speedline Driver at address

The first thing I noticed about the Adams Super S Speedline – and you’ll probably do the same – was the lip-type design when viewing the crown of the club. It reminded me of the streamlining of a cyclist helmet and it turns out this is no coincidence. The Adams team have refined that technology for the Super S to become the most aerodynamic driver they have ever produced.

Which was good news, because testing this baby on six different links courses in five days, it was going to see a lot of wind from every angle possible. The good news is the Super S Speedline not only coped but seemed to excel in the windy conditions, from Cornwall to Somerset, Trevose Golf Club to Burnham & Berrow, the Adams Super S Speedline lapped up the challenge and I enjoyed every minute of putting his driver to the test.


More >>

Lightly Does It. Adizero Review

Adizero Golf shoes, Hero

Adizero Golf shoes, sole

Adizero Golf shoes, Side shot

The moment you take the new Adizeros out of the box, you notice something – they’re so light. It leads me to wonder if this golf shoe is going to give all the necessary support I need when swinging a driver. After playing three rounds of golf in Portugal I can confirm that the Adizeros not only gave me all that support, they also declared their own little embargo on blisters – not a patch of cut or sore skin to be found. Straight out of the box, straight onto the course, and no pain. Adidas are on to a winner with this combination in my book.

Technology

Adidas state that this is the lightest men’s tour golf shoe they have produced, and you can believe it when you remove them from their box.


More >>

Wilson Vizor Putter Review

Wilson D100 Driver and 3wood

Wilson D100 Driver

Wilson D100 3-wood

Before I start this putter review I’ll lay my cards on the table. I’m a bit of a traditionalist and just like a simple putter, but I do understand that many of you like to change your models or indeed have putting problems. With all the research and technology out there to help golfers today, there have been some major leaps forward – and with that in mind I take Wilson’s Vizor putter with me to South Wales to play seven courses in four days and put it through its paces.

The first thing that does give me confidence is the weight of the putter – I do like to let it do the work and not have to smash the ball to get things rolling. I also feel that the grip is the perfect thickness, slightly bigger than what I’m used to but nevertheless just right. The technology itself is easy to work out – I don’t read anything before I take the putter out on the greens.


More >>

Wilson D100 Driver & 3-Wood Review

Wilson D100 Driver and 3wood

Wilson D100 Driver

Wilson D100 3-wood

The first thing you’ll notice when you pick up the Wilson D100 driver is how light it is – which is a big surprise as most drivers now are lightweight but the guys at Wilson really have done a great job bringing down the weight by so much. It all adds up to plenty of clubhead speed.

And boy does this lightweight beast generate some clubhead speed. I took the D100 driver and 3-wood on my tour of South Wales playing seven courses in four days and I have to say I’ve never hit so many drives over 300 yards – the best coming at Cardigan Golf Club on the 446-yard 14th where I had 102 yards left to the pin, a drive of 334 yards on a beautiful sunny day. I must admit I felt like Bubba Watson.


More >>

Sub 70 Summer 2013 Range Review

Sub 70 Summer 2013 Range

Sub 70 Otto golf shirt

Sub 70 Maddox golf tank

When packing for a golf trip overseas you always have to keep in mind your baggage allowance – these days more so than ever with different airlines charging for clubs and checked in baggage. The cannier among you will now try to pack clothes into their hand luggage – and this is where the people at Sub 70 can help you out.

The 2013 summer collection not only looks good but the lightweight quality material they use means you can pack quite a few outfits, so you don’t have to compromise when it comes to looking good on the course.


More >>

A Tale of Two Cities

Overview of Palmares Golf Course

Quinta da Marinah 5th hole

I am standing on the crest of the hill on the 15th at the new Robert Trent Jones Jnr course at Palmares. Out at sea a yacht patiently bobs along as two hues of blue meet on the far horizon. A couple of birds chirp away to each other and the flowers are in bloom, shouting their magnificence to the world.

The blazing yellow sun that I’ve so missed back in England, smiles down upon the world. I feel the leather glove on my left hand and look down at the perfectly mown green below, and a thought goes through my head – just how much I’d miss if I didn’t play golf.

When Bobby Jones once said don’t forget to smell the flowers, I think it’s moments like these that he was talking about.


More >>

World of Golf Goes Platinum

World of Golfs new Platinum Lounge

View of the two tier bays at World of Golf

World of Golf has announced the opening of its platinum lounge at their New Malden facility, which sits on the A3 route into London. What better way to beat the traffic jams in and out of London than by spending a relaxing hour grooving your golf swing? World of Golf has taken your average turn-up-and-smash-some-balls-at-the-range to a whole new, professional level.



More >>

Nikon Coolshot Review: Eye On The Prize

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade RBZ, RBZ, TaylorMade Drivers, TaylorMade Fairway woods, RBZ Tour Driver, RBZ Tour Fairway wood

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade RBZ, RBZ, TaylorMade Drivers, TaylorMade Fairway woods, RBZ Tour Driver, RBZ Tour Fairway wood

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade RBZ, RBZ, TaylorMade Drivers, TaylorMade Fairway woods, RBZ Tour Driver, RBZ Tour Fairway wood

When my recent trip to California was being organised, like most golfers I was checking out the courses as they came through and started to load them up on my GPS system after paying the extra amount I needed to get the worldwide coverage package. When the final itinerary came through I had 21 courses to play and my GPS only held 20 courses - umm what to do?

Then a package was delivered with the new Nikon Coolshot rangefinder to test (It would have helped if it was a week earlier and I wouldn’t have had to pay that worldwide subscription!) So out went the GPS and in went the Nikon Coolshot and what a great decision that turned out to be.

More >>

TaylorMade RBZ Tour Driver & Fairway woods review

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade RBZ, RBZ, TaylorMade Drivers, TaylorMade Fairway woods, RBZ Tour Driver, RBZ Tour Fairway wood

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade RBZ, RBZ, TaylorMade Drivers, TaylorMade Fairway woods, RBZ Tour Driver, RBZ Tour Fairway wood

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade RBZ, RBZ, TaylorMade Drivers, TaylorMade Fairway woods, RBZ Tour Driver, RBZ Tour Fairway wood

I have hit a few white drivers and fairway woods on the range and on a couple of holes while testing them, but I have never played a full round with one of them and here I am about to embark on playing 20 courses in a 12 days stint. This was me throwing myself in at the deep-end with no back up driver to turn to, which is probably what you guys want to hear - a real test, not just a couple of smacks on the range.

I am a bit of a traditionalist so I have never really got the white driver craze, but you do get that optical illusion that the clubhead is bigger than it actually is and it does seem easier to align. When you read the tech stuff, it's one of the keys that all the manufacturers are using.

More >>

Christmas Golf Gifts Ideas

Ping Winter Polo

PING Collection announce the advancement of their strong winter polo line with the long-sleeved Jackson polo-shirt. Designed to offer the serious golfer supreme protection during the colder season, Jackson offers thermal properties.
More >>

Golf, Chirstmas gifts, season golf gifts, Christmas Gifts, Christmas Gift IdeasPing Jackson shirt, Ping Jackson Polo Shirt

Nikon Coolshot

The new Nikon COOLSHOT is unveiled as the successor to the Multi Award Winning Nikon Laser Rangefinder 350G and further cements Nikon’s intentions in the Laser Rangefinder category.
More >>

Golf, Chirstmas gifts, season golf gifts, Christmas Gifts, Christmas Gift IdeasPing Jackson shirt, Ping Jackson Polo Shirt

 

Golf, Chirstmas gifts, season golf gifts, Christmas Gifts, Christmas Gift Ideas, Golf Watch, Sports Watch, Tennis Watch

Score Keeping Watch

ScoreBand’s innovative four-mode functionality and digital display makes for an exciting new product in the sporting goods market. The four modes - Time, Golf, Tennis and AllScore – can be used for nearly every sport.
More >>

Golf, Chirstmas gifts, season golf gifts, Christmas Gifts, Christmas Gift Ideas, Golf Watch, Sports Watch, Tennis Watch

TaylorMade ATV Wedge System

Born from years of research and development as well as extensive player testing, TaylorMade Golf is proud to introduce the ATV (All-Terrain Versatility), a wedge created to offer golfers a simple choice to handle the multitude of shots and course conditions.
More >>

Ping Boxed Gifts

The brand’s gift sets offer golfers a colour co-ordinated, bespoke, beautifully designed match compromising of polo-shirt and jumper, each hand-picked specifically to complement the other.
More >>

Golf, Chirstmas gifts, season golf gifts, Christmas Gifts, Christmas Gift Ideas, Ping shirt, Ping Polo Shirt, Ping box set, Ping Christmas Box Set

Sub70 12 days of Christmas offers

With Christmas just around the corner, Sub70 have launched a brand new 12 days of Christmas offer. The stylish UK golf clothing company have teamed this with some fantastic postage savings to ensure everything arrives in good time to be wrapped and under the Christmas tree on the big day.

 
More >>

Golf, Chirstmas gifts, season golf gifts, Christmas Gifts, Christmas Gift Ideas, Ping shirt, Ping Polo Shirt, Ping box set, Ping Christmas Box Set

 

 

Sub 70 Apparel Review

Golf, Golf Apparel, Golf Equipment, Golf Apparel Reviews, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, Sub 70, Sub 70 Apparel, Sub 70 Golf Apparel

Golf, Golf Apparel, Golf Equipment, Golf Apparel Reviews, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, Sub 70, Sub 70 Apparel, Sub 70 Golf Apparel

Golf, Golf Apparel, Golf Equipment, Golf Apparel Reviews, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, Sub 70, Sub 70 Apparel, Sub 70 Golf Apparel

You know what it's like when you’re packing to go on a golf trip, you not only want to look good on the course but you also need a change of clothes for the evenings out and with the measly baggage allowance on offer by some airlines it’s tough getting the right balance.

Imagine my delight when I received the package of three shirts, one cardigan, a sleeveless cardigan and a pair of trousers through from Sub 70 apparel and found that they weighed about the same as a pair of Chinos from a well known high street chain.

If you think the quality must have been poor think again, the shirts use Sub 70 Climitac® moisture management 100% breathable fabric. The knitwear uses 100% double mercerised cotton and the Noah golf trousers used a Wool/Viscoe Blend fabric, so as you can see there is no compromise on the quality of their apparel.

More >>

 

TaylorMade ATV Wedge System: Rough Diamonds

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade R11, R11, TaylorMade Irons, TaylorMade R11 Irons

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade R11, R11, TaylorMade Irons, TaylorMade R11 Irons

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade R11, R11, TaylorMade Irons, TaylorMade R11 Irons

For those who know me or who are regular readers of my equipment reviews will know that the weakest part of my game is my wedge play. When I was playing golf every day as captain of my university golf team and playing amateur golf, I would describe it as OK.

It's when I don’t practice and only get to play irregularly then it’s the first thing that plummets and when I say plummet I mean a lot of duff shots around the green and when I am not duffing the ball, then it’s a knife across the green that could take out an opponent, better than a run of four birdies on the back nine!

So you can imagine anything that is going to help my short game I would jump at. When I got to test TaylorMade ATV wedge system on my recent trip to California I have to say I was more than impressed, I really started to enjoy playing shots around the green, I even managed a couple of Mickelson like flop shot with the 56° wedge.

More >>

TaylorMade R11 Irons: Beauty And The Beast

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade R11, R11, TaylorMade Irons, TaylorMade R11 Irons

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade R11, R11, TaylorMade Irons, TaylorMade R11 Irons

Golf, Golf Equipment, Golf Equipment Reviews, Golf Reviews, TaylorMade, TaylorMade R11, R11, TaylorMade Irons, TaylorMade R11 Irons

You know what its like when you’re in the pro shop or one of the many discount golf stores: you pick up an iron and you just love the way it feels and looks and although you haven’t hit a ball in anger, you just know when you do, this club will deliver. Well that’s how I felt when I took delivery of TaylorMade’s R11 Irons.

There is nothing like the feel when the ball compresses against a well-struck iron. You can keep all your leather-on-willow cricket talk, nothing beats the sound of steel on thermoset urethane. It’s what we spend hours on the practice ground to achieve.

The little glint from their perfectly-formed face felt like the R11s were calling to me, willing me to take them out with the promise (and technology) that they can make me feel those shots, hear that sound.

More >>

Adidas Celebrate Golf becoming an Olympic event

thumbnail image

Thumbnail image


With the countdown to the London Games reaching fever pitch, adidas UK staged a daring golf stunt on Monday (23 July 2012) to celebrate the sport’s inclusion in the adidas ‘Red Shoe’ campaign. Against the backdrop of London’s iconic Tower Bridge, the River Thames was transformed and a unique floating golf hole appeared to honour the global brand’s latest colour range for all footwear worn by adidas athletes when they take the stage at the 30th Olympic Games.

More >>

Ping i20 – The Ayes Have It Part II: The Irons

thumbnail image

Thumbnail image

Thumbnail image

I'm not normally taken by the look of a new iron anymore, but when I pulled the i20 irons from the packaging I must admit I could see straight off that the matt finish was going to be a winner – and I wasn’t the only one. I tested the irons on a recent Golf Road Warriors trip to Scotland, taking in eight courses in seven days, and the caddies all remarked upon their attractive, inviting appearance. This was also true of the i20 driver, fairway wood and hybrid, but more of that below in the i20 woods review.

You could see from the finish that the i20s were going to have a nice feel and strike when you hit the ball, and when I pulled out the wedge to play my second shot to the first hole at Dunaverty Golf Club, I wasn’t wrong. It felt like the ball just melted into the face. Shame I couldn’t see it stop as it was a blind shot, but I knew from instinct it was going to stop and spin.

More >>

Ping i20 – The Ayes Have It

Thumbnail image

Thumbnail image

It can now be confirmed that matt black is the new white – you heard it here first. And as mentioned in the Ping i20 iron reviews, these are real head-turners. On the recent Golf Road Warriors trip to Scotland, I had caddies and playing partners purring over the look of the new i20s, with plenty of people asking if they could hit a few shots.

I must admit I like the look of these, they look moody – like they're going to smash the ball down the fairway for daring to be next to this beast of a weapon. I would compare the look to that of a dark Lamborghini, with blacked-out windows and black alloys – you just know it's all about power and the i20s don’t disappoint in that department. I tested the 9.5, with 14-degree 3 wood and the 20-degree hybrid. For me that was the perfect set up for the woods.

More >>

RBZ – style meets performance

 Thumbnail image

 Thumbnail image

I really enjoyed putting these to the test, especially at altitude where the ball just flies for miles. The feel off the clubface was more like a blade than a cast. The RBZs feature a specially-designed, thin fast-flexing face added to the new vibration and sound control system to get the precise feel of a blade.

I normally play blades, but I wasn’t put off by the look of the RBZ, which is a common occurrence when you first pick up a game-improving iron. I’m of the opinion that TaylorMade haven’t tried to cram in all the game-improvement technology out there at the expense of the look of the club. Okay, I know you’re probably thinking: if a club can help me break 100/90/80 I don’t care what it looks like. Which is probably true, but if you can achieve both, like the RBZ, it has to be a bonus.


More >>

G20 Summit

 Thumbnail image

 Thumbnail image

As most of you know, I’ve been using the Ping K15 for the past year or so and really love the feel, sound and flight that it gives me, so it was going to be interesting to see how the G20 driver compared.

The G20 did have the advantage of being tested in Colombia where Bogotá (8,612ft) and Medellín (4,905ft) sit high above sea level and the ball really does fly for miles. Look out for my destination review; it really is an ego boost playing golf at that altitude.

So back to the G20. The head is shallower and smaller compared to the K15 and you can see where they have moved the weight low and back in the head, and this gives a great ball flight

More >>

Tiger Woods backs Fred Couples as Ryder Cup Captain
 
 Thumbnail image
Tiger Woods

Photo Kevin Murray

Tiger Woods has come out in defence of Fred Couples and his Ryder Cup Captains credentials, stating “I've heard people question whether Fred would be a good Ryder Cup captain, and I just don't get it. I think that Fred is a great captain. Whether it's The Presidents Cup or the Ryder Cup, it doesn't matter.

The way he keeps us loose and how much fun we have -- it's just great to play for him. He's a lot more competitive than people realise. He just doesn't show it. He shows it with us around, but the public doesn't see it”.

 

On Tour With Ping's K15


When I first picked up the K15 I had to admit its not the best looking driver on the block, but then again I’m more interested in hitting fairways than how good a club looks sitting in my bag. The first time I realised I could be onto a winner with Ping’s K15 was standing on the 10th tee at Shirley Park Golf Club in Surrey, England with Golf Monthly’s Deputy Editor Neil Tappin.

More >>



Two Extremes, For Ping’s New G20 Irons


 image

 image

 image

With press trips to Morocco and Liverpool’s Golf Coast coming up, it was a great chance to put Ping’s New G20 irons to the test. The heat of Morocco and its manicured fairways and rough where the ball just sinks to the bottom compared to the Golf Coasts cooler, more windy conditions with its tightly cropped fairways and whispery rough, I felt would make an interesting comparison.

More >>


 

Christmas Golf Gifts Ideas

Ping G20 Polo shirt

PING Collection, have launched the G20 Polo Shirt inspired by the launch of the PING G20 equipment range. The shirts come in : Charcoal/Graphite, White/Graphite and Inferno Red/Charcoal. Black has been replaced by
More >>

Chirstmas gifts, season golf gifts, ping G20 shirt, Ping G20

Story2

Softspikes Ultimate Cleat Kit

Another great gift for the golfer in your life come from Softspikes®, the world’s leading cleat, tee and grip manufacturers, have designed the definitive Christmas gift for golfers, entitled the Ultimate
More >>

Ping Golf Mittens

 

Forming an integral part of PING’s exclusive new accessories range are their exciting Deluxe Mittens, built to keep your hands warm in the most brutal winter conditions. The mittens are fleece lined for temperature maintenance and winter performance, while individual finger gloves situated
More >>

Christmas gift ideas, Christmas golf gift ideas, golf gifts, ping deluxe mittens

 

Gecko Pro Tour

Papp Tames Asia Course

The Asia course was in pristine condition and the players were delighted with the way the course was set up, the pin positions were challenging but fair and the weather, a blistering 35 degrees, sorted the wheat from the chaff. For a tour that is in its infancy, this being the third tour event, attracting 56 competitors from across Europe is no mean feat


More >>



Story2
The winner Daniel Westermark on the right

New Tour takes flight

As the sun popped over the horizon of Atalaya Golf & Country Club on the 12th July 2011, it didn’t just herald another beautiful day in southern Spain it trumpeted in a new era for golf in Spain. This was the dawn of the Gecko Euro Pro Tour and as Bradley Smith strode onto the first tee and launched his drive down the first fairway of its first ever tournament,

More >>

Gecko Tour Launches

A new golf tour is about to launch in Spain, The Gecko Pro Tour is the new professional golf tour, which is open to all professionals and category 1 amateurs. This year will see 15 tournaments making up the playing schedule, culminating in The Players Championship, which is being played at the illustrious Valderama Golf Club.

The concept of the Gecko Pro Tour is to become the stepping-stone for Professional Golfers and top Amateur players to

More >>

 

 


The sad loss of Severiano Ballesteros

It is with a heavy heart that we have to report the death of Severiano Ballesteros. Seve passed away on 7 May 2011 aged 54, the dashing Spaniard will be sadly missed.

The five times major winner and winning Ryder Cup captain, had surgery for a cancerous brain tumor back in October 2008 and had been cared for at his home in Pedreña, where he died early Saturday morning. Seve was only 19 when he announced himself to the world in July 1976. It was the final day on the final hole at The Open Championship at Royal Birkdale, he hit a trade mark chip shot between two bunkers that landed four feet from the cup. He then sank his putt to tie Jack Nicklaus for second place behind Johnny Miller.

With a passion for perfection and an inspiration to a generation of golfers, he gave pleasure to millions with his daring golf game and not least his fellow professionals on the European tour, the tour wouldn’t be what it is today without Seve. His short game was pure genius, he once said, “I'd like to see the fairways more narrow. Then everyone would have to play from the rough, not just me.” Ben Crenshaw told Sports Illustrated back in 1985 “I think he comes as close to a complete player as anybody I’ve ever seen, he can hit every shot in the bag and do it with the style and look of a champion.”



Seve won five major championships over a 10-year period. Open Champion in 1979, 1984 and 1988. In 1980, he became the first European and youngest golfer to win The Masters at 23, (Tiger Woods became the youngest in 1997 when he won the Masters at 21.) Ballesteros won the Masters again in 1983. He won a total of 50 European tour events, which still stands as a record today, 9 USPGA tour events, 6 events on the Japanese tour and 36 other titles around the world, he was truly a global icon in the world of sport.

On a personal note, I would just like to say, he was an inspiration to me as I was growing up playing golf and I loved watching him play, I went to see him in an exhibition at Mannings Heath Golf Club, he was a joy to watch and who can forget that salute when he holed his birdie Putt on the 18th at St Andrews to win the Open Championship. Yes he was a true Champion, not just as a golfer, but as a man and the way he was with his legions of fans.

Thank you for some wonderful memories, good luck with your journey and don’t forget to give the big man some shots, its only fair, RIP Seve you will never be forgotten.


 

Coming soon Thailand and Vietnam destination features

 


Greg Norman, golfer, golf in Vietnam, Danang Golf Club, Danang Dunes
Danang Golf Club

colin montgomerie, golfer, golf in Vietnam, montgomerie links golf club
Montgomerie Links

Siam Country Club, Golf, Golf in Thailand, Golf in the Kingdom, plantation course
Siam Country Club

Look out for two new destination features coming online soon, we will be featuring two courses in Danang, Vietnam and six courses in Thailand, both destination will have video content.

Chiangmai highlands, golf in Thailand, Golf in the Kingdom

Chiangmai Highlands
Photo Peter Cordén

 

 

Golfplan announce renovations across Asia and America

Golfplan will break ground on five renovation projects in 2011, illustrating that Asia's most active purveyors of original course designs are equally engaged in the region's redesign market.

Green renovation will start in April at the Xili GC in Shenzen, China, they have already broken ground on a comprehensive 27-hole renovation and 9-hole addition at Lakewood Country Club in Seoul, South Korea, while bunker renovations have started in the American West at both El Paso (Texas) Country Club, and Albuquerque CC in New Mexico.

xili golf club, shenzen, china, golfplan, golf in asia

Xili Golf Club, Shenzen, China

Another redesign at Singapore Island Country Club (SICC) is under contract and now in planning, with an anticipated construction-start of December 2011/January 2012. Golfplan will refurbish three of the four tracks at this renowned club. First up will be the Island Course, then SICC's Sime Course and the esteemed Bukit Course, designed in the 1920s by the great Scottish golf course architect James Braid.


singapore island country club, sicc, sime course, bukit course, james braid

3rd hole at Singapore Island Country Club (SICC) before and after the redesign

Since it was established back in 1972, Golfplan has designed more than 150 new courses in over 50 different countries, with more than 90 renovation projects in 17 countries. Its work across Asia paving the way for golf to flourish across all the Asian markets including, China, South Korea, Singapore, Vietnam, Indonesia and India.

For more information on these and other projects from Golfplan call +1.207.526.7190, or visit www.golfplan.com

 

 

Golfers enticed to 'Golf the Beach'

Two of Vietnam's premier courses have joined forces in a bid to lure more golfers to one of the country's most activity-rich tourist areas. Ocean Dunes Golf Club in Phan Thiet and Sea Links Golf & Country Club in nearby Mui Ne have formed Golf the Beach: Vietnam's Must-Play Getaway.

ocean dunes, vietnam, nick faldo, golf in vietnam

13th hole at Nick Faldo's Ocean Dunes, Phan Thiet, Vietnam

"It's about strength in numbers, and that's why Golf the Beach is a very exciting development indeed," said Stephen Banks, general manager at Sea Links. "We've got two excellent championship courses here, with several more in the planning and construction stages, but this is the first time the Mui Ne/Phan Thiet area has been promoted as a golfing destination. "We think it has major potential. We're so close to Ho Chi Minh City.

Golf the Beach merely states the obvious: "Golfers can come and play two of the best courses in Vietnam, each within 15 minutes of the other. At night, golfers can enjoy themselves of everything else the region has to offer."

The Nick Faldo-designed course at Ocean Dunes opened in 1996. it was the first modern resort course built in Vietnam, the first to open outside the urban hubs of HCMC and Hanoi. Sea Links, is an attractive and formidable test created by acclaimed course architecture firm Golfplan, back in 2008. The two courses offer golfers wildly contrasting yet equally compelling experiences.

sea links, vietnam, golf in vietnam, golfplan, golf

7th Sea Links, Mui Ne, Vietnam

3 month Tour ban for Saltman


It's probably the hardest thing in golf to report someone for cheating, it must be doubly so for professional golfers to accuse a fellow competitor, they know this is a colleague and friends livelihood at stake.

The stigma that this accusation carries, will remain with that person for the rest of their playing career. Elliot Saltman's fellow playing partners in the Russian event, Stuart Davies and Marcus Higley refused to sign his scorecard for continually replacing his ball incorrectly.

As a golfer we all know people make genuine mistakes, but to continually mark your ball a centimeter out of its original position, I personally believe you would know what you were doing.
More>>
 

Davis Love 111 leads America in the 2012 Ryder Cup


The PGA of America announced that, Davis Love111 was to be their captain, for the 2012 US Ryder Cup. His only major title win came at the 1997 USPGA Championship, he has also played on six US Ryder Cup teams, with a record of nine wins from 12 matches and five drawn matches. 

Davis was vice-captain on the American side that lost to Europe last October at the Celtic Manor in Wales. “I’m thrilled and honoured,” Love said. “It’s one of the great honors in golf to make one Ryder Cup team. To make it for a career is a blessing.”  “The number one mission is to get the Cup back,”.
More>>



Golf Monthly release their Top 100 courses

Golf Monthly have published their top 100 courses of Great Britain and Ireland, it makes some very interesting reading. Check out what courses have moved into and out of the top 10, or use the guide to see what courses you have played or would love to play.

More

A reflective Ernie in Hawaii

 

 Thumbnail image
Ernie Els

Ernie Els visited the media room at the Sony Open in Hawaii yesterday and reflected on life, on and off the tour and his own future.

The three-time major champion was asked about retirement, his expectations in this years majors, his thoughts on the rivalry between the Europeans and Americans and If he will become a regular on the Champions Tour.

Light hearted banter one minute and serious the next, especially about his new tournament, The Els for Autism Golf Challenge, but always with honesty.

Ernie turns 42 this year, he would love to get an early win at the start of the season, particularly here, so he can come back to Hawaii for the 2012 season opener. And another major? Well, that's not beyond the realm of possibility. "At least I made the cut at the Masters last year," Els said. "So, that was a step in the right direction. I've got a good chance, I've just got to get out of this putting streak, if I can putt like I did at Country Club in South Africa, I can win a major."

Asked about retirement, Ernie replied. "I'm definitely not looking for retirement, but I'm definitely positioning myself for when that day comes. I want to be in the right market, the right area and that's basically what I'm looking at. I'm trying to take advantage where the opportunities are and at the moment, it's in Asia."

When asked if he would be competing on the Champions Tour? Ernie replied "At the moment, no, not really. I've got some time to figure that out, there could be some other events taking place over there (in Asia), so we'll see how the world turns."

As for the friendly banter between the players on the European and American tours? "I think you're going to see the battle there, between the lines you can read giving each other a little bit of lip, which is great. I think it's great for the game. It's great for the rivalry between the two tours and bringing the Ryder Cup into it also."

 

Increase your website traffic with Attracta.com
  planetgolfreview.cm
E-mail: james.mason@sportsjournalist.info
Home Page | News & Betting guides | Equipment Reviews | Destination Reviews | About us